How to organize workspaces

This article explains how to create workspaces and assign members to them. Workspaces serve to separate entities in the system. These entities include tests, training courses, users, user groups, and question categories. Users assigned to a certain workspace can see, create, or edit its content based on their permissions. A user requires a managing role in order to modify a workspace. Workspace managers are workspace creators and users with Manage workspace or Manage any workspace permissions.

Accessing workspace roles

From the Workspaces panel in the left-side menu, select the Manage workspace roles tab.

Workspace roles give users permission to access workspace entities such as tests, question pools, question categories, training courses, users, and user groups. These roles are related uniquely to workspaces. Only users with workspace membership can be assigned workspace roles.

 

Workspace roles page layout

This page displays the following:

  1. A table of all workspace roles in the system.
  2. The Actions button that contains Edit and Remove option.
  3. The Create new workspace role button.

 

Note: A workspace can only be removed if no entities are referenced to it. Assignment of a member or a test will prevent the removal. Remove a membership by opening the Users tab under the Manage workspaces dashboard.

 

Upon clicking the Create new button, you will be redirected to the Roles and permissions tab. To create a new role, you must:

  1. Enter the role name.
  2. Enter the external ID (optional).
  3. Enter the role description (optional).
  4. Select desired permissions.
  5. Click on the Save button to save the changes.
  6. Click on the Cancel button to discard the changes.

Accessing workspaces

From the Workspaces panel in the left-side menu, select the Manage workspaces tab.

Basic workspace information

Once you select a workspace, you will be redirected to the Information tab, where you can view the workspace settings:

  1. ID – A unique value generated automatically once the workspace is created, that can be used to access the workspace with a URL.
  2. Name – The name of a workspace can be changed at any time.
  3. Description – An optional field where additional information can be added.
  4. Created by – This field displays the workspace creator’s username. You will be redirected to that user’s profile by clicking on it.
  5. Creation date – This field displays the date when the workspace was created.
  6. Updated by – This field displays the username of the user who updated the workspace. You will be redirected to that user’s profile by clicking on it.
  7. Update time – This field displays the date when the workspace was updated.

    Workspace members

    Manage workspace members by navigating to the Workspace managers tab. Define a membership rule where all users with the specified role are automatically mapped as workspace members. Remove said membership to remove users from the workspace.

     

    This page offers the following options:

    1. Assign – Assign users to a workspace.
    2. Remove By removing a membership, you are removing users with the specified role from the workspace. Members can be removed at any time.

     

    Assigning members

    To assign members to a workspace, do the following:

    1. Click the Assign button.
    2. Choose the User’s role. By choosing the role, you are selecting all users in the system with that role.
    3. Choose the Workspace role. This role will be assigned to the selected users, in the workspace you are managing. The role will grant them permissions uniquely for the entities in the selected workspace.
    4. Click the Save button to save the changes.
    5. Click the Cancel button to discard the changes.

    Workspace users

    Under the Users tab, you can view the list of all workspace members, both locally assigned and inherited. The inherited members are automatically assigned to a workspace when a membership linked to their role is created, while the local members are assigned individually from the list of all users. Remove the workspace membership to remove the inherited members. To remove the local members, open the local workspace members table and select the members you wish to remove.

     

    The table of workspace users can be filtered to display the following:

    1. All users with access – Display all members of the workspace.
    2. Local workspace members – Display all locally assigned members and actions for their management.

     

     

    The following options are available for local workspace members:

    1. Assign – Assign new members to the workspace.
    2. Remove selected Remove selected members from the workspace.

     

     

    To assign local members, do the following:

    1. Click the Assign button.
    2. Choose the Workspace role. The role will be assigned to the selected users in the workspace. The role will grant them permissions uniquely for the entities in the selected workspace.
    3. Click on the Save button to save the changes.
    4. Click on the Cancel button to discard the changes.

       

      Creating a new workspace

      Upon clicking the Create new workspace button, you must enter the following:

      1. Enter the name of the workspace.
      2. Enter the workspace description (optional).
      3. Click the Save button to save the changes.
      4. Click the Cancel button to discard the changes.

      Adding training courses, surveys, or tests to a workspace

      A workspace can be assigned to training courses, surveys, or tests. These entities are visible and accessible only to the managers and members of the chosen workspace. To add a workspace to the desired training course, survey, or test select it from the Workspace section found in the Information tab of the desired entity. These entities can be reassigned to a different workspace at any time. Available workspaces depend on the user’s permissions.

      If the user has the global Create test permission, all workspaces will be available, no matter if the user is not a member of all workspaces. If the user has the workspace Create test permission, only the workspaces with this permission will be available.

       

       

      Was this article helpful?
      Dislike 0
      Previous: How to create training courses with existing or ad-hoc tests
      Next: How to generate link for assigning users to user groups directly
      Have questions? Search our knowledgebase.